Workaround for CAW’s exported world install problem

I seldom export the EA worlds that I worked on because it is easier to just import the resources. But suddenly I had an inclination to try it today. I know I tested out the procedure when CAW 1.18.7 was initially released. And I think that it worked that time because I tested on a clean DCCache and InstalledWorlds folder. Meaning there wasn’t any content there before. Which is most likely why it worked, then!

So, now that I have a few worlds already installed and the DCCache folder contains some *.dbc and *.ebc files, and the InstalledWorld folder contains the corresponding .world files, any newly-exported world fails to appear in the New Game list. Oh, don’t get me wrong. They appeared in the Installed Content of the Launcher just fine. It even appears, when I quit and restarted Launcher. I mean, it is not one of those phantom installation, that just claimed to be successful, but then poof! disappears at the next launch of the Sims3Launcher.

Intrigued? Interested to learn more? Let’s tackle this mystery, shall we?

As the image gallery shows on the New Game, Before image, installing a new world actually caused all the other worlds that were installed before to disappear off the worlds list! Which caused the Saves based on these missing worlds to be disabled.

To fix this, I did this series of steps:

  • Install the world as usual, in this post, I’m installing ST.r_147 wip.Sims3Pack
  • Quit and restart Launcher to ensure the world is indeed installed
  • Quit Launcher
  • While the game is not running, cut + paste all the .world files from the InstalledWorlds folder in your user documents path to the Worlds’ folder in the Program Files path. ie

From

\Users\<username>\Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\InstalledWorlds

To

\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\GameData\Shared\NonPackaged\Worlds

  • Start the game
  • The worlds list is now populated, as expected.
  • Quit the game
  • Cut + paste all the .world files, except for Sunset Valley.world back into the InstalledWorlds folder
  • Start the game back again, and the game would now recognize the list of worlds installed in Launcher’s InstalledContent tab

There appears to be a disconnect between Launcher and the game that the index of the InstalledContent is lost. Perhaps, this is why folks have been complaining of Launcher uninstalling their Store content since forever, but it is more prevalent now, and spreading, like a virus.

This post was written while on patch 1.48.5 and CAW 1.18.8.

6 thoughts on “Workaround for CAW’s exported world install problem

  1. The installation of worlds has been corrected with the 1.47 patch. I downloaded it, it made a mess of my base game, I fixed it, and the patch now allows CaW worlds to be installed without all the cut and pasting.

    1. Still occurring for me on 1.48.

      It used to work on 1.47 for me as well – I had no pre-existing content in Launcher then. You can read how it was a success in the caw-1-18-7-status post. I don’t know if that makes a difference or not…having pre-exisitng content, I mean. Or, before I messed with the .world files while doing the fixes and testing them.

      Unless, they broke it again?

      1. I didn’t install 1.48 because it didn’t have anything I needed. However. I will share what the Tech offered me. They said the base game The Sims 3 is set to update all the expansions and packs. So, uninstalling the base game (only the base game and save your user files elsewhere) and the CaW (save your user files elsewhere) then reinstalling them. I installed the base game first, replaced the user files, and then ran it to be certain it functioned. Then I installed the CaW and ran it to make certain it was functioning. After which, I moved my user files back to the CaW and exported one. Then installed it as required. It was there in the launcher as installed and it showed in the game list as well. It was fixed. I cannot say that it will work for 1.48 patch but it might.

  2. Hehe.
    You know how many times I uninstall and reinstall, each time a patch is released? At least 3 times! 4 if I’m not lazy.

    Since the debacle with patch 1.31-1.33, it has become a habit of mine to patch at separate times, once each with
    – manual incremental from previous version
    – incremental via Launcher from previous version
    – manual superpatcher from previous version
    – manual superpatcher from freshly installed 1.0 version
    …just to ensure each of those different methods result in the same outcome at the end of the day.

    And to redo each of the above, you’d need to do the uninstall and reinstall to return to that previous version state. Which is why, most often I’m not the first out of the gate to release the patch links. 😉 I verify things work first before I publish the updated SimsWiki Patch pages.

    But, I hardly think everyone needs to know that, so my activities are never published. Well, until now, that is. If I felt like it, I publish this activity report in the Patch Logs page’s Actual Changes. But from the views, not many people even look at that, so I dropped it.

    Smiley
    There’s a lot of work that goes into generating the diff report, analyzing it, and reformatting the report for the wiki page. If y’all find it useful, I can pick it up again.

    So, I don’t think I need to uninstall and reinstall again just to get this “installing exported world” procedure to work as it should. 🙂
    Although, I didn’t try with fresh user files this time round, since the workaround works for me. Why need to go the extra mile, right? When we walk an extra 10 blocks already, out of our way, in the snow, uphill, both ways(!) just to get the thing to work as it should! Smiley

    1. What Operating System do you have – Windows or Mac? What media is the game delivered in – DVD, Origin, Steam, GameTree, etc? And, is the game installed to default directory or a custom one?

Leave a Reply

