What is that? Is that a light?

I know I have not been updating in a while; I’ve been in research mode. Trying to get to the bottom of why the moved objects are not retained at the next load of the CAW WIP file as I wrote in Status on Riverview fixes. And it also now affects the routing! What routing was fixed before a Save and Exit still shows up at the next file load, until I do a “Rebuild Routing”. So obviously the routing paint was applied, just that the white routing lines do not get updated.

And with the release of patch 1.42 and the dubious CAW version 1.18.4, there are now more issues with CAW:

  1. 1.42 and CAW. Does it work? @MTS CAW forum
  2. Updated CAW is making my lots vanish @MTS Help forum & CAW update is deleting all my lots @TS3 CAW forum by same poster
  3. I cannot Save a working world as is, must always do a Save As. Also started before patch 1.42/CAW 1.18.4.

And kiwi_tea has tweeted to a SimGuru and hopefully EA is now aware of this issue. http://t.co/e2oZDhNp

It is actually that reply from shay480 at the official forums, where she/he wrote…

This was happening to me at least a couple of weeks ago. I thought I had overdone the world I was working on, so I just play it as is.

…which makes me think it is the CAW version that come with Supernatural. So, my next priority is to rollback to CAW 1.18.3 with patch 1.36 (I think it was) and see if the issue is still there. What I know for sure is that in the last world fixes I did for Sunset Valley back in April did not encounter these problems. Worse comes to worse, I may need to rollback to CAW 1.16.2 and patch 1.34.

So, if that is indeed the case, finally! There might be a light at the end of the tunnel after all. And we can pinpoint a root cause so that it can be fixed! To think that we all thought it was an error on our part. Pfft!

I have a feeling I have to revisit Supernatural’s Moonlight Falls…

[eta 11/01]
There are more threads popping up at the official forums due to this issue. And now, Kiwi has started a thread http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/604830.page. So please post in there if you encounter similar issues.

2 thoughts on “What is that? Is that a light?

  1. Just letting you know your links up there are broken. I really hope something happens with this. The worst thing by far is that all my many, many back ups are affected as well.

    1. Thx, kiwi_tea! Links corrected. (were missing the http protocol)

      Aww… No backups from previous saves done in older CAW versions? Well, hopefully EA corrects this, whatever this is that is causing borked CAW WIP world saves.

Leave a Reply

